Keep Shelby Beautiful Board

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

KEEP SHELBY BEAUTIFUL BOARD, formerly known as Shelby Appearance Commission (SAC), was established in January 1972 to promote the general welfare of the citizens of the City of Shelby by making careful study of the visual problems and needs of the municipality within its area of zoning jurisdiction and make plans to carry out programs that enhance and improve the visual quality and aesthetic characteristics of the City. In March 2003, Keep Shelby Beautiful (KSB), advisory council to the Shelby Appearance Commission was formed and became a certified affiliate of Keep America Beautiful. KSB’s mission was to empower individuals to take responsibility for enhancing the quality of life for Shelby’s citizens through litter prevention, reduction in waste, beautification and education.

After several years of working separately, the Shelby Appearance Commission and Keep Shelby Beautiful merged in January 2010. The purpose of the merger was to strengthen beautification efforts designed to enhance and improve the quality of life in Shelby.

It is the intent of the KSB_Bylaws (pdf: ) to affirm this merger and to affirm the partnership between Keep Shelby Beautiful and the national Keep America Beautiful organization as a municipal affiliate.

Keep Shelby Beautiful (KSB) is a fifteen member advisory board to the City Council of Shelby, North Carolina. Since 2003, KSB has been an affiliate of Keep America Beautiful (KAB). As an affiliate, KSB enjoys learning from and sharing information with almost 600 KAB affiliates across America. KSB works with volunteers, schools, civic clubs, local businesses, and City staff to educate the Shelby community on programs for litter prevention, recycling, and beautification. The mission is to empower individuals to take responsibility for improving the quality of life in the community by the use of education, technology, local ordinances, and effective enforcement to “KEEP SHELBY BEAUTIFUL”!

To view the ordinance establishing Keep Shelby Beautiful, please click on Keep Shelby Beautiful Establishing Ordinance.

For information on Keep Shelby Beautiful Commission, formerly the Shelby Appearance Commission, go to Keep Shelby Beautiful.

Keep Shelby Beautiful Board meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each month from 11:45 - 1:00 p.m in the UOC Assembly Room located at 824 W. Grover St.

Board members experience three (3) year appointments.

MEMBERS  EMAIL TERM

 Audrey Whetten

(Executive Director)

awhetten@uptownshelby.org  USA Rep. 
Peter Potemkin ppotemkin@gmail.com Jan. 2019
 Linda Price linda@shelby.net Jan. 2019
 Joe Suttle joesuttle4@gmail.com Jan. 2019
Patrick McMurry  apmcmurry@gmail.com Jan. 2021
Don Costner  Don.Costner@AllenTate.com Jan. 2021
Patti McMurry   patti.mcmurry@hospicecares.cc  Jan. 2021
Dana Scoggin  danawhite@hotmail.com Jan. 2021
Wiley Smith  wileysmith29@gmail.com Jan. 2021
 Linda Bridges kbridges3@carolina.rr.com
Jan. 2020
Kellie Ledford    kellie.j.ledford@gmail.com Jan. 2019
 Stevie Brooks mimna1dj@gmail.com   Jan. 2020 
 Charles Hamrick mrcharles911@gmail.com  Jan. 2020
Laurie Hendrick  laurieh@carolina.rr.com   Jan. 2020 
Modestenia Bush   modestenia_bush@yahoo.com Jan. 2020

 

City Council Liaison:
Staffed by:

Dicky Amaya - Ward 6

610 Schenk Street
Shelby, NC 28150

email: dicky.amaya@cityofshelby.com

Walter (Walt) Scharer, Planning & Development  Director



 

 

 

 

 

 

To apply for appointment, fill out the application for Appointment to Boards & Commissions and submit it to the City Clerk’s Office at City Hall. 

 

For more information on KSB, contact:

Walter Scharer:  Planning & Development Director 

Planning & Development Services
Keep Shelby Beautiful
Phone: 704-484-6829
Post Office Box 207 (28151)
315 South Lafayette Street; Shelby, NC 28150

Follow KSB on Instagram!  Instagram1

 KSB Logo 11024_2